Congratulations to Gaynelle Predmore

Congratulations go to Gaynelle Predmore, Library Media Technical Assistant at the Jerome Library, Bowling Green State University. Gaynelle received special recognition from the judges in the Paraprofessional of the Year Award, sponsored by Brodart, for her work with the Ohio Library Support Staff Institute and ALAO's Support Staff Interest Group. Gaynelle is part of the staff of the Curriculum Resource Center at the Jerome Library.

CMCIG Spring Workshop

ALAO's Curriculum Materials Center Interest Group will hold its annual spring workshop on Friday, May 19, 2006, at Cedarville University, from 8:30 until 3:30. The workshop, "Planting Seeds for Professional Growth," will feature the following sessions:

Making Your Life Easier with BWI!
Eileen Armour and Nancy Cheney of BWI will demonstrate how using TitleTales, a free database, to search, select, and order materials online can benefit Curriculum Materials Center librarians.

Promoting Information Literacy through Webquests
Sara Bushong of Bowling Green State University will lead this discussion of using webquests with K-12 and pre-service teachers.

EBSS: Curriculum Materials Center Collection Development Policy Manual
Dr. Gary Lare of the University of Cincinnati will share the Collection Development Policy manual his EBSS Commitee has developed and go through the document with workshop attendees.

NCATE Technology Requirements
Debra Mallonee of Cedarville University, and formerly of the State Department of Education, will explain NCATE's increased expectations in the area of information technology and discuss how CMCs and library personnel can help meet those expectations.

Tour the Cedarville University Curriculum Materials Center

For more information and to register for the workshop, go to http://www.cedarville.edu/cmcig.

Hope to see you on May 19!


Art of the Picture Book Conference

Don’t miss the first Art of the Picture Book Conference to be held on May 12 and 13, 2006 at Ashland University, Ashland Ohio. The conference will bring together educators, librarians, artists, publishers, editors, aspiring writers or illustrators, and anyone interested in picture books. Art of the Picture Book will feature keynote presentations by award-winning authors and illustrators, many exciting sessions and workshops, a children’s art exhibit, and author autograph sessions.

Keynote Speakers

Internationally known authors and illustrators, Ted and Betsy Lewin have collaborated on notable books such as Gorilla Walk and Elephant Quest. Betsy Lewin is the author and illustrator of the 2000 Caldecott Honor Book Click Clack Moo: Cows that Type. Ted Lewin is the author and/or illustrator of several award winning titles including Peppe the Lamplighter, a 1994 Caldecott Honor Book.

Native Ohioan, Denise Fleming is the author and illustrator of the Caldecott Honor book In the Small, Small Pond, and The Everything Book, a Publisher's Weekly Best Children's Books of 2000.

Other invited speakers include the Deputy Director of the Mazza Museum, Benjamin Sapp and children's book author, Dominic Catalano.
Teachers are eligible to receive one hour of graduate workshop credit from Ashland University by attending both conference days and completing an appropriate class project.

Registration for the conference is now open with the two-day registration fee only $95.00! Single day pricing and student rates are also available.

For more information about the conference and to register, visit the Conference Home Page @ http://www.ashland.edu/~artpicbk

Questions may be directed to artpicbk@ashland.edu


MLA: Education Curriculum Interest Group

The Michigan Library Association's Education Curriculum Interest Group (ECIG) is hosting a spring workshop at Saginaw Valley State University's Regional Education Center. This workshop, "New Technologies in the Classroom: Electronic Textbooks, Podcasting and Screencasting" is scheduled for Friday, April 21, 2006 from 9:30 am - 3:15 pm.

The program includes:
  • "The Role of Math and Science Centers in the State of Michigan"
    Dr. Walter Rathkamp, Director
    Saginaw Valley State University Regional Math & Science Center
  • "New Technologies in the Classroom: Podcasting and Screencasting"
    Russ Barneveld, Professor
    Grand Valley State University
  • "ETextbooks: The Vendor's Perspective"
    Scott Goddard
    Holt, Rinehart and Winston
  • "ETextbooks: The Librarian's Perspective"
    Sue Homant, Head of Reference
    University of Detroit, Mercy

Cost for this workshop, including lunch, is $40 for ECIG and ARLD members; $50 for MLA members; and $70 for non-MLA members. For more information, or to register, contact Anne Winkel (517) 394-2774, ext. 277 or register online (see post title link) @ https://orders.mlc.lib.mi.us/mla/2006registration.htm.

Registration deadline is April 16, 2006.